All-Bay Area News Group High School Football, Fall 2021: Offensive Line

Editor’s Note: This is part of a series of articles from the Bay Area News Group honoring the best seas football players of fall


First team

Drew Azzopardi, Serra, 6-5, 317, senior

The first team honors of the Catholic Athletics League of the West. Dominant presence for a Padres team who won the CCS Division I Championship and played Mater Dei in the Open Division State Title match. Three-star perspective. Signed with the State of San Diego.

Jackson Brown, San Ramon Valley, 6-6, 295, senior

Selection of the first team of the mountain division of the East Bay Athletic League. Three-star prospect with 31 Division 1 offers. Hired at Cal. “One of NorCal’s best 2-3 offensive linemen and probably the best in the Bay Area,” said SRV coach Aaron Becker.

Nathan Elu, Serra, 6-5, 296, senior

West Catholic Athletic League Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year. Signed with the state of Oregon. The three-star tackle helped the Padres win the CCS Division I Championship and a berth in the Open Division State Title game.

Uluakinofo Taliauli, Saint Francis, 6-3, 260, senior

West Catholic Athletic League Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year. The three-star prospect has signed with the state of San Jose. “A great lineman on a great line,” said a coach of a league rival.

Derek Thompson, De La Salle, 6-2, 265, junior

Honors from the Mountain Division of the East Bay Athletic League first team. The three-star prospect anchored a line that helped the offense generate 5,040 yards, including 3,433 rushing.

Second team

Aidan Bandes, Pittsburg, 6-2, 255, senior

Unanimous selection in the Bay Valley Athletic League first team. Helped the team set an unbeaten league record and their first NCS Championship in 30 years.

Marcus Failla, Valley Christian, 6-3, 340, senior

Selection of the first team of the Catholic Athletics League of the West and a three-year incumbent. Finished the season with 29 pancake blocks to help the Warriors reach the CCS Division I playoffs.

Max Haro, Salesian, 6-3, 300, senior

Lineman of the Year in the Rock Division of the Tri-County Athletic League. Helped lead the pride to the 6-A Division State Championship.

Simeon Mitchell, McClymonds, 6-3, 307, senior

Oakland Athletic League First Team Honors. Two-star prospect, according to 247Sports. Helped Mack win league, section, regional and state championships.

Mone Ngalu, Menlo-Atherton, 6-2, 305, senior

The first team honors in the Bay Division Peninsula Athletic League division. Played almost all snaps on offense, defense. Team captain. Finished the season with 39 tackles as the Bears won the league title and advanced to the SCC Division I semifinals.

Honorable mention

Matthew Abbes, De La Salle, elder

Tony Alejo, Hillsdale, senior

Jonathan Beersdorf, King’s Academy, senior

Jeremiah Caldwell, Hayward, junior

Jake Cooney, Dublin, senior

Sione Fetulimoeata, Antioch, senior

David Fononga, Aragon, senior

Adam Gibbs, El Cerrito, senior

Ryan Given, pioneer, junior

Keith Hirtle, Calif., Senior

Brenson Kanongataa, Oak Grove, senior

Chase Kerezsi, Granada, senior

Favor Komolafe, Liberty, senior

Semisi Latu, San Mateo, senior

Sam Lowings, Half Moon Bay, senior

Michael Lucero, Kennedy-Fremont, senior

Isaiah Martin, Gunderson, senior

Quinton Mastropietro, Mountain View, senior

Slater Mather, Clayton Valley, senior

Angel Niuatoa, Hayward, senior

William Ohai, Mt. Eden, second year

AJ Ortiz, Newark Memorial, senior

Elijah Ortiz, James Logan, senior

Hayden Roberts, Amador Valley, senior

Emanuel Rodelo-Torres, Skyline, senior

David Serrano, Bellarmin, senior

Joseph Speno, pioneer, senior

Joe Taito, Kennedy-Richmond, second year

Lisala Takafua, Pittsburg, senior

Champ Taulealea, Valley Christian, freshman

Brandon Thai, Evergreen Valley, senior

Siaki Tonga, Antioch, junior

Bani Yaro, Leland, senior

All-BANG football team schedule

Tuesday January 11

Kickers / bettors



Defensive line: Noon

Wednesday January 12

Utility: 7h00

Linebackers: 10 a.m.

Running backs: noon

Thursday January 13

Defensive backs: 7:00 a.m.

Receivers / Tight Ends: 10 hrs

Quarterbacks: noon

Friday January 14

Coach of the year: 4h30

Co-offensive players of the year: 7 a.m.

Defensive player of the year: 10 a.m.

Player of the year: Midi

The team was selected by the high school athletic staff of the Bay Area News Group.

Comments are closed.