Jared Brinkman, Trevor Penning earn 2021 AP All-America football team honors


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – Two Panthers secured spots on the 2021 Associated Press All-America football team.

Jared brinkman and Trevor Penning are among 16 Missouri Valley Football Conference student-athletes to win the national honor. The Panther duo are among five MVFC players who took home first-team honors. The announcement follows the appointment of Brinkman and Penning to HERO Sports’ U.S. FCS First Team for defense and offense, respectively.

Penning was the only offensive lineman to be named a finalist for the Walter Payton Award, which is awarded to the National Offensive Player of the Year in College Football Division I. He was the first player to be invited to Reese’s Senior Bowl. He was chosen by Stats Perform Preseason All-American and Phil Steele Preseason All-MVFC. He was an integral part of an offensive line that allowed 36 sacks and a loss of 231 yards this season and helped UNI gain 1,686 rushing yards and 2,679 passing yards. Penning is originally from Clear Lake, Iowa, and specializes in movement and exercise science. He is the son of Jeff and Teresa Penning. His brother, Jared, also plays for the UNI football team.

Brinkman is a two-time MVFC Defensive Player of the Year, having received his second consecutive honor this year. Brinkman has scored 22 solo sacks and assisted 51 this season. He has 15 tackles for a loss of 50 yards. He had 14 against South Dakota on Oct.16. Brinkman forced a fumble and recovered a fumble. Brinkman is a senior specializing in physical education. He graduated from Regina High School in Iowa City, Iowa. He is the son of Mike and Carla Brinkman.



  • RB Pierre Strong, senior, State of South Dakota
  • OL Trevor Penning, junior, northern Iowa
  • OL Cordell Volson, senior, State of North Dakota
  • DL Jared brinkman, senior, northern iowa
  • DB Darius Joiner, senior, Western Illinois


  • OL Cody Mauch, senior, North Dakota State
  • OL Matt Waletzko, senior, North Dakota
  • OL ZeVeyon Furcron, senior, Southern Illinois
  • TE Tucker Kraft, second year, State of South Dakota
  • WR Christian Watson, Sr., State of North Dakota
  • PK Jose Pizano, second year, State of Missouri
  • DB Montrae Braswell, second year, State of Missouri


  • RB Jaleel McLaughlin, junior, State of Youngstown.
  • WR Dennis Houston, Sr., Western Illinois
  • DL Brayden Thomas, senior, State of North Dakota
  • P Grant Burkett, second year, State of Missouri.



  • Quarterback – Cole Kelley, senior, Southeast Louisiana.
  • Running backs – Quay Holmes, senior, East Tennessee State; Pierre Strong, senior, State of South Dakota.
  • Offensive linemen – Trevor Penning, junior, northern Iowa; PJ Burkhalter, senior, Nicholls State; Cordell Volson, senior, State of North Dakota; Lewis Kidd, senior, State of Montana; Braxton Jones, senior, southern Utah.
  • Close End – Kemari Averett, Sr., Bethune-Cookman.
  • Receivers – Xavier Gipson, junior, Stephen F. Austin; BJ Byrd, senior, Morehead State; Jalyn Witcher, first year, Presbyterian.
  • Versatile player – Montrell Washington, senior, Samford.
  • Kicker – Ethan Ratke, senior, James Madison.


  • Linemen – Nate Lynn, senior, William & Mary; Vaughn Taylor, senior, Morehead State; Jared brinkman, senior, northern Iowa; Isaiah Chambers, senior, McNeese State.
  • Linebackers – Troy Andersen, senior, Montana State; Isaiah Land, junior, Florida A&M; Forrest Rhyne, senior, Villanova.
  • Defensive backs – Justin Ford, senior, Montana; Christian Benford, senior, Villanova; Darius Joiner, senior, western Illinois; Johnathan Edwards, senior, Austin Peay; Decobie Durant, senior, State of South Carolina.
  • Bettor – Brian Buschini, sophomore, Montana.


  • Quarterback – Eric Barriere, senior, Eastern Washington.
  • Running backs – Geno Hess, senior, SE Missouri State; Isaiah Ifanse, junior, Montana State.
  • Offensive linemen – Cody Mauch, senior, North Dakota State; Michael Corbi, senior, Villanova; Matt Waletzko, senior, North Dakota; ZeVeyon Furcron, senior, southern Illinois; Justin Redd, senior, State of Norfolk.
  • Tight end – Tucker Kraft, second year, State of South Dakota.
  • Receivers – Taylor Grimes, senior, Incarnate Word; Tyler Hudson, junior, central Arkansas; Christian Watson, senior, State of North Dakota.
  • Versatile player – Jacob Saylors, senior, East Tennessee State.
  • Kicker – Jose Pizano, sophomore, State of Missouri.


  • Linemen – Jahari Kay, senior, Sam Houston; Devonnsha Maxwell, junior, Chattanooga; Josiah Silver, freshman, New Hampshire; Bryce Carter, senior, James Madison.
  • Linebackers – Patrick O’Connell, junior, Montana; Jacob Dobbs, junior, Sainte-Croix; James Houston, senior, Jackson State.
  • Defensive backs – Jordan Jones, junior, Rhode Island; Koby Perry, senior, Austin Peay; Brandon Dowdell, senior, Chattanooga; Devin Hafford, Sr., State of Tarleton; Montrae Braswell, second year, State of Missouri.
  • Bettor – Daniel Whelan, senior, UC Davis.


  • Quarterback – Cole Johnson, senior, James Madison.
  • running backs – Ramon Jefferson, junior, Sam Houston; Jaleel McLaughlin, junior, State of Youngstown.
  • Offensive Linemen – Tre’Mond Shorts, senior, East Tennessee State; Colby Thomas, senior, Sam Houston; Jaylin Hendrix, senior, Central Arkansas; Cole Strange, senior, Chattanooga; Jake Guidone, senior, Dartmouth.
  • Tight End – Ryan Miller, Sr., Furman.
  • Receivers – Dai’Jean Dixon, senior, Nicholls State; Dennis Houston, senior, western Illinois; Caleb Snead, senior, Campbell.
  • Versatile player – Xavier Shepherd, sophomore, Kennesaw State.
  • Kicker – Chris Campos, rookie redshirt, Stephen F. Austin.


  • Linemen – Brayden Thomas, Senior, State of North Dakota; Clay Patterson, second year, Yale; Brevin Allen, senior, Campbell; Josiah Erickson, senior, State of Sacramento.
  • Linebackers – Kelechi Anyalebechi, senior, Incarnate Word; Matt Shotwell, senior, Cal Poly; David Hoage, sophomore, northern Colorado.
  • Defensive backs – Markquese Bell, senior, Florida A&M; Zy Alexander, sophomore, southeast Louisiana; Zyon McCollum, senior, Sam Houston; Clayborne Fields III, junior, Marist; Greg Ross, senior, James Madison.
  • Gambler – Grant Burkett, sophomore, State of Missouri.

Source link

Comments are closed.