Mississippi State Football: Two Bulldogs Make SI Preseason All-SEC Teams

The Southeastern Conference’s Sports Illustrated affiliate sites recently voted for their preseason All-SEC teams.

In terms of the total number of players selected between first team and second team, Alabama and Georgia led the field with 11 players selected each. LSU was not far behind, finishing third with 10 players selected.

Two players from Mississippi State were named to the second team, with wide receiver Jaden Walley and offensive lineman Charles Cross both making the cut.

As a sophomore, Walley already made a name for himself in Starkville. He set the school’s single-season record for receiving yards from a freshman, also recording four straight performances with 100 yards or more.

Cross is also a recognized player, qualifying as a first round in several early simulations leading up to the 2022 NFL Draft.

Here is the full list of teams:

All-SEC preseason

First team


QB: JT Daniels, Georgia

RB: Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M

WR: John Metchie III, Alabama

WR: Treylon Burks, Arkansas

WR: Kayshon Boutte, LSU

TE: Jalen Wydermeyer, Texas A&M

OL: Evan Neal, Alabama

OL: Darian Kinnard, Kentucky

OL: Jamaree Salyer, Georgia

OL: Kenyon Green, Texas A&M

C: Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas


DL: Jordan Davis, Georgia

DL: DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M

DL: Phidarian Mathis, Alabama

LB: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

LB: Christian Harris, Alabama

CEO: Zakoby McClain, Auburn

DB: Derek Stingley, LSU

DB: Kaiir Elam, Florida

DB: Eli Ricks, LSU

DB: Josh Jobe, Alabama

DB: Battle of Jordan, Alabama


K: Cade York, LSU

P: Jake Camarda, Georgia

Lead: Derek Stingley, LSU

KR: Tank Bigsby, Auburn

Second team


QB: Matt Corral, Ole Miss

RB: Kevin Harris, South Carolina

WR: Dontario Drummond, LSU

WR: Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

WR: Arik Gilbert, Georgia / Jaden Walley, Mississippi State

TE: Jahleel Billingsley, Alabama

OL: Edward Ingram, LSU

OL: Cade Mays, Tennessee

OL: Emil Ekiyor Jr., Alabama

OL: Warren McClendon, Georgia / Charles Cross, Mississippi State

C: Nick Brahms, Auburn / Liam Shanahan, LSU


DL: Kingsley Enagbare, South Carolina

DL: Sam Williams, Ole Miss

DL: Zachary Carter, Florida

CEO: Grant Morgan, Arkansas

CEO: Nakobe Dean, Georgia

CEO: Brenton Cox, Florida; Owen Pappoe, Auburn; Mike Jones Jr., LSU

DB: Jalen Catalon, Arkansas

DB: Tykee Smith, Georgia

DB: Malachi Moore, Alabama

DB: Smoke Monday, Auburn

DB: Lewis Cine, Georgia / Derion Kendrick, Georgia


K: Will Reichard, Alabama; Anders Carlson, Auburn

P: Paxton Brooks, Tennessee; Mac Brown, Ole Miss

Lead: Kearis Jackson, GA / Ainias Smith Texas A&M

KR: Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

Source link

Comments are closed.